Foundation Poured: Construction Begins

So I think I’ve built a strong foundation for where I was planning to go with this blog. I’m focused on being Seattle’s most knowledgeable real estate professional and this foundation has been a milestone for taking my profession to the next level. For now, I’m an agent with a “premier” real estate company in Seattle. Really, my only reason for choosing the company I have is because of my path that lead me here as a real estate Internet consultant in San Diego (a 4 year hiatus I took in ’01). The company I choose gave me some of the most flexible MLS search customization features that allowed me to provide up-to-date inventory of active listings to potential web visitors.

I also took interest in Seattle’s downtown real estate because I love this city (more on that later).

My foundation is simply profiles of the majority of the popular condominium towers and developments. That is what is most constant in our market as opposed to trends. As I now progress further, I’ll be focusing more on those trends and how they affect condo buyers/sellers.

Some Current Trends to Address:

New Developments

Is urban “living” more valuable than home ownership?
Why does resale seem to be a better investment than presale?

Family Demand

Family amenities vs. hotel-like amenities
Schools and children’s extracurricular activities
Affordability

The Future of Real Estate Sales

Redfin & Zillow
Fees, Commissions and Taxes

I’m sure I could come up with categories and topics for days, but my most immediate concerns have to do with the controversy of discount brokers, the demand and possibility of catering to families in an urban setting and how to effectively research quality downtown investments.

Today’s Market Update

New Listings = 16
Price Changes = 12
Pendings = 5
SOLD = 5

View New Condos on the Market TODAY!